When to take a step back

Posted on June 27, 2015

0


Today, I took a deliberate step to shy away from facing a challenge. I knew it was possible to manage the task but yet I backed out.

From being that over-enthusiastic kid who raised his hand for everything, trying out every pie in the basket you suddenly realise that you can’t keep up with the pace always.

Over the years you learn that it is fine to step back and let it go. To focus on other priorities rather than try to be a jack of all trades.

I felt guilty to have given up. But then realised it was fine. I needed to change the way I was thinking. I realised that it is fine to say, “I am sorry, I don’t think I am fit for this assignment.”

It is better to say no before the task starts rather than back down when the going gets tougher.

Being upfront and crude will not go down easily with the people you are dealing with. Sometimes they will realise and acknowledge your honesty, most often not. But at least you have a clear conscience after admitting your reluctance.

And if your conscience is your driving force, you will have a peaceful night’s sleep. But if you didn’t, and chose to beat around the bush to accept the task, then it will be a period drenched in guilt.

I am happy I took the former.

Posted in: Uncategorized